The first three months pass, so I’m told…

Official campaign day One…
13:37 on 31 May 2008

Woke up late, in the finest Greek tradition and am having a cheese and ham croissant with a black coffee whilst listening to Pearl Jam, so far so good.

Cigarettes and beer may follow, after all it’s still early.

Day Two…
11:53 on 01 June 2008

So far so good, despite being subjected to another death metal music fest last night, yet again by the citizens of where I am currently staying, I managed to overcome the desire to go out and strangle the numb nuts responsible.

Having to listen to what sounds like the Daleks ranting over some pre mangled deep purple records doesn’t constitute being called music, ever… I feel the most for the children of the people who listen to this kind of ‘ear murder’. What will they grow up listening to, what chance have they in this world…

If you, appreciate good music, then the next time you see a death metal album, shoot the idiot who bought it. It’s no good destroying the CD, it’s already been made, but by blowing the idiot’s head clean off his shoulders you will have saved the world of a moron and a future generation of potential Petrol pump attendants…

E's the Reaper

Always look on the bright side of Life...

So far the campaign trail is heating up, well, here in Greece everything is heating up come to think of it…

The day has started, I know because I am awake and am semi dressed. I’m about to indulge in my second black coffee and possible first glass of ice-cold water. This is now essential as my body heat reaches maximum and I sit here watching steam ooze out of my body, either that or I’ve let rip and am unaware of such activity…

Mission for today is to complete a few animations and a few graphics for the ACTUP MySpace page, most of the ground work has been done however now it needs the TLC it deserves.

Music is imminent and food may follow, I prepare myself for what is and only can be, Sunday…

Day three…
21:05 on 02 June 2008

Day two bled into day three as work, projects and beer got the better of me…

Its enlightening to know that the whole culture is indifferent to work, social hours and drinking, coming in at 3 in the morning to start work drunk is quite cool, even if a little un-nerving when you sober up at a computer terminal not realising you’ve been working.

Later, I hope to work out what on…! Animation is inspiring when you have no limits, I had even fewer at some point this morning, that’s all I know.

Listening to music whilst drinking coffee is my last recollection prior to being sat outside writing notes about whatever it was I’d done, was about to do, or what I may indeed have been thinking about doing at some point.

Either way, having seen the finished render I’m more than chuffed that the ‘work faeries’ paid me a visit at some point.

Just for reference, that’s the ‘work faeries’ as in the type found in the UK with wings, not the rampant selection you can choose from over here…!

Day three is here, I know it is as I am conscious of a day four being imminent.

Day three refuses to end as I crawl into day four…
07:36 on 04 June 2008

Had a video presentation for the UN on HIV/Aids for ACTUP ΔΡΑΣΕ HELLAS which has to be finished for today at some point, been up a staggering amount of hours this week finishing off the 3D rendering whilst completing the Flash presentation at the same time.

Didn’t believe it was possible to put the body through this sort of regime and still feel relatively ok… For now at least I’m at one with being a zombie, I’ve got the munchies, I look like death warmed up, and I’m half-dressed and wandering around in a daze, if Michael Jackson can take the time out from melting or dabbling with Kids then if I felt safe on set I’d consider doing a new video for thriller for him, just as capturing this look without make-up is quite an achievement…

Anyway, managed to get all the animation finished so far, completed all except the minor details for the Flash aspect of it and am about to crawl into bed in a few minutes when i finish my coffee, it’s now 7:35 am, and I’m aiming to be in a catatonic state by 8:00 am. Hopefully I’ll get four hours or so before everyone starts waking me up and another day of mentality begins.

Apart from a few minor details, it’s nearly done and should be ready to hand over later today.

Can’t be bothered to attempt any humour or to attempt any witty outlooks on life and living at the minute as I’m too f*cked to care to be fair.

If you want a laugh, look in the mirror…I just have!

Day four will continue, I have a feeling it won’t leave me alone…

😀

Day…. Who knows…Where am I…?
11:54 on 05 June 2008

Well, me and my body managed to survive the rigours of yesterday, somehow. After getting a 2 hour power nap at 8 I was woken up by work, I dragged myself to my PC and somehow managed to finish whatever the hell I was working on…

Thankfully the deadline was met, I’d just burned off a copy to test for myself when the ‘Boss’ turned up, seriously, love it when that happens. He was suitably impressed and everyone else liked it so that was the main objective achieved.

It was quite a strange project as I had no brief, no real information or guidance on what I was to do, I just had three days to pull something out the bag and make a presentation showcasing the organisations campaigns and goals, something that would stand out.

Quite bizarre for me when you think about it, three weeks ago I was nearly working in Skiathos, selling Apartments, when by accident I fortunately found out that the company was particularly bad, prior to that I turned down the opportunity of working in Rhodes as the company I was offered the job with wasn’t all it said it was, now I suddenly find myself in the middle of an organisation as what can be only described as a media/promotion role, something that just happened by pure chance.

Last night me and my friends, Guinness and Tia Maria did a few to celebrate the completion of the project so I shall endeavour to sober up properly before I add to my weeks comments, back later…

Day whatever, condition critical, somewhere there was a weekend involved…
19:12 on 10 June 2008

Well, not really sure what day I’m on, all I know is that its Monday and apparently there was a weekend with me involved in it somewhere.

I woke up next to a Cat, knowing that I’d stopped off for two Chicken Souvlaki’s late last night, one for me and one for the Cat, i do remember that bit…

Before that there was some time involving me and a few pints of Guinness, frequent meetings with Tia Maria, a few free ones as well which I’m getting used to here…Actually, bits are coming back to me…

I remember sitting outside my new local, sat in the shade with the rain slowly running off the Umbrella, listening to Blur’s Tenderness, thinking how strange, I could be in Manchester, how sh*t’s that… Well, apart from the heat, the food, Guinness costing five euro’s fifty a pint…

Bejesus!…Good job I’m not a Paddy, or Oid have had a fookin Heart attack…

So, other than that I’m good, blew about a hundred euro’s on lord knows what, i know there was food, lots of it judging from my rapidly expanding waistline. I also know that I’d had nine drinks before I met our works handyman and bought him a drink too, then I remember getting the first of several free drinks, and then there is now…

The Cat’s the Bosses, he left it with me to look after as he’s in New York for the Meeting this week, and it’s just had the operation done and needs medication…

As for the Kebabs, well, they were needed, I’m afraid I was terribly, terribly drunk…

Had an Earthquake as well, not personally, I think there were a few more people than just me involved, I haven’t seen the News yet, but a) pointless as it’s in Greek, and b) haven’t got a TV here, sort of makes the choices apparent really…

And now there is work and coffee involved, I’m having a non Drinking day today, well, sort of, I’m not drinking in the Day at least, now its kind of evening and therefore I should probably be ok now…I’ll keep you posted though, it could all go Pete Tong!

Toodles…

Day 18, or something like that…
12:37 on 18 June 2008

Well, I’m still alive so I’m told, thankfully a second opinion helps these days, even when it’s from a small cat that proceeds to try to lick me to death every morning…

The food and beer hasn’t killed me yet, despite several very good attempts on my life, including yesterday afternoon’s – ‘one Pint’!

Always a fatal saying as far as sayings go, ‘one Pint’ isn’t a word that truly exists really, it does in the context of ‘one’ and ‘Pint’, but other than that they take on a whole new meaning once you put the two together.

‘One Pint’ now comes with the added itinerary of ten or more, with Tia Maria’s, 2 Souvlaki’s and if it’s still open, possibly Ice cream too, usually means that I’ll be perched on the Park Bench across from where I am dreaming of whatever I am dreaming about when I’m in such a state.

Fortunately I’ve always handled my drink quite well, don’t get me wrong, I can still be an arse like everyone when I’m three sheets to the wind, however i apparently never appear to be that drunk, or so people think and tell me anyway. Even when I can hardly speak and the only thought on my mind is either food or sex, and probably not in that order, people still say i look sober!!! Not sure how that works but it does for me… Either true or they’re completely blind drunk and are talking about someone else completely, either way, i take it as quite a compliment in some ways, probably shouldn’t as drink is a curse, especially when they stop serving, boy do I start cursing…

Anyhow, still Cat sitting, started out as a three-day mission, now a week and a bit, don’t mind as its cute as hell, fairly well-behaved and apart from trying to eat me, were getting on like two little fonzies… Last night was the only night I didn’t return with the summer’s latest food accessories, chicken Souvlaki’s and i don’t think my mate was impressed. I opted for Ice cream instead and it wouldn’t have been right buying a Cat Ice cream, I don’t even know what flavour she likes…!

So, onwards with the waking up and stuff and time to take the world by the Balls and Whoop some Ass, or do a bit of work before the heat drives me to Milkshake territory, dangerous ground as the Ice cream parlour is next to the Guinness fun-filled dreams parlour, and once I’m out the building, any thing’s possible, especially the ‘one Pint’ rule. It got me yesterday, will it get me again today…Who knows…?

Please, if you find out first, someone let me know…

Good morning Vietnam…
16:12 on 22 June 2008

Well, it’s another day survived, f*ck knows how as its 3:27pm, I’ve been up since yesterday and only stopped drinking at 7am this morning. A particularly bad day at the office dragged on to a week’s worth of sh*te so the impending message my brain was sending my body all day yesterday was to get blind drunk…And I am, did, will…

I’ll give you a quick run down of events, It started when my room kept being violated, I’m currently staying at my work place as a temporary measure till I now get sorted in Athens… No one respects my privacy, people do what they want when they want, and then this week I have a 100 euro’s stolen, not the first time either. There are two people who I suspect, and to be fair, I’d say that both of them rather than one were and could have done it on either occasion, however sadly without any proof I can’t do anything at this stage, as had I any proof what so ever I would still be pulling teeth out slowly with a monkey wrench.

On Friday, having noticed that people had been in and out of my room all week, I proceeded to set up the room just to confirm or not that someone had been entering it. When I returned that night my fears were confirmed, and not just that, my clothes had been gone through and several other discrepancies had happened as well, including the loss of 100 euros.

This added to the sh*te I’d been having already of delays with regards to sorting out my contract at work, which not only is unsettling but leaves me unable to still acquire a property over here, a distinct lack of sleep due to work, acute heat exposure, not eating properly and missing my two cats back in the UK…😦

After now seemingly being supported by all the local Barstaff in Exarhia, we set about getting me horrifically drunk… I’m still not so sure of the outcome as I have loosely had a couple of hours sleep when i first came in, which subsequently, I can’t remember doing at all, the coming in or the sleep… and also, as i was unable to finalize the night with a Souvlaki due to them being shut, I am now hungrier than a hungry, hungry hippo…

My little companion the Cat I was looking after, has returned to his rightful owners which in some ways is nice, however also leaves me missing my little chicken nibbling companion… I still tentatively search around the workplace for where she may have Snook of to only to realise she’s gone, however that could also still be due to the amount of blood in my alcohol system.

I now befriended another Bar owner who ended up supplying me with drinks till the early hours this morning, I just wish he sold Guinness and food, had he have done so I would have adopted him…

On top of those events, a guy who works here was asked to leave on Friday, no comment with regards to my previous statements, and subsequently no connection either, however I took it upon myself to secure the PC’s and make sure no information of bad practice could happen as he still has a key to here. Thankfully I did as we discovered a PC riddled with password hacking software, spyware, monitoring software and much much more. Personally speaking, to even have such software on your PC would normally get you an express Taxi to your local Police station but things are different here, and we’ve still yet to see what he has to say to account for this when he turns up this week to collect his stuff. Ho hum, having worked in computers for quite some time now, I’ve never seen so much potential on a PC to do harm, damage and or to violate people’s privacy. Still quite shocked, but not surprised as your gut feeling about people is usually right, and mine was sadly.

Sometimes stupidity is a clever mask worn only to hide true intention, deception and possibly worse still, and its good fortune if your lucky enough to discover it before it causes you too much harm, hopefully we have been lucky in that nothing serious has happened, hopefully…

Time to get some food as I’m monster hungry, I’m in need of a deep-fried Elephant with some Jumbo chips…

Work done for the night…
01:28 on 01 July 2008

Offski, time to get nuked…Updates tommorrow as I’ll be in a better state then…!

E's a Dude - EMG

Just having the one...

Me and the Mayor…
18:03 on 07 July 2008

So, its been a while, haven’t had much time to post any new updates as life’s been doing all it can to ensure I stay in a catatonic state of limbo, not actually doing the ‘limbo’, but in limbo, a state near catatonia so I hear…

Well, the weekend started early, again. I think it was Thursday when I officially knew about it this time, there was a launch at Kiehl’s in Athens, Kolonaki square, at their new shop-in a-shop erm, shop kind of thingy…

I had to represent the cause, didn’t need much persuading mind you, free nibbles, cocktails, champagne and totty everywhere, well it was simple really, I had to go…😀

To be fair, it went well, I managed to meet the Mayor of Athens which was a bit strange, for him anyway. Someone should have really given him advanced warning that there was a ‘me’ in town, it’s a weird shock to be face to face with a ‘me’ when you probably haven’t even seen one on the TV or anything either… He was suitably impressed with my good self when I realised that he wasn’t after my vote, my Political career could have blossomed had I been a sausage eating choir boy. Fortunately for him, he keeps his seat in power a little longer…!

On the night, well, the view’s were splendid, skimpy and hot spring to mind, and that’s just the men, the women we’re much better than hoped for too, except for the ones without either nibbles or champagne, something has to be done about those evil biatches…Grrr…

Anyway, they are working with us to help raise awareness and to help raise the profile of the work we do. Not the hot and skimpy totty, sadly, Kiehl’s… I’m still working on them though…

Afterwards we ended up going for a drink or three and ended up in a surreal place eating things on paper things at some silly hour in the morning. I remember being dared to eat a bull’s testicle, it was in the restaurant mind you, not in a field, you know i wasn’t expected to just hack one-off and have a nibble, however i stood up to the challenge. Still fatal daring me to do much, but they learnt…

I wouldn’t say they’ll be on my Xmas list this year but they weren’t the worst thing I’ve eaten. Lets just say that Bull’s everywhere will be able to breathe a sigh of relief when i go there again for food…

Meanwhile, the totty won’t be so safe…

And then it came to me…
13:12 on 13 July 2008

Ever wonder about the state of your mind, how good or bad it really is. I do.

It’s when your waking up in the morning and you’re getting ready for the day to begin that your mind wanders and you find yourself thinking…

I wonder if you had a miniature nun, could you hide her successfully amongst a group of penguins…?

That’s my thought for the day, not what am I going to wear or eat, but I wonder if I could hide a miniature nun amongst penguins…’

Is it me?

To be continued…

The Penguin Investigation Bureau…
15:53 on 16 July 2008

Well, it’s happened, I’ve set up the P.I.B. The ‘Penguin Investigation Bureau’, it needed to be set up a long time ago but due to the Political climate, I had to wait till now to begin my research.

The P.I.B - Penguin Investigation Bureau

If you need to talk, we need to listen...

From its base in Athens, Its job is to pursue and track ruthless and dangerous Penguins. If your life is affected by Penguins, then fear not, the Penguin Investigation Bureau is here…

Firstly, I need to set up the hotline, and then the witness protection scheme then we’re all safe…

We offer support and help into people infected with Penguinism, people who think they are Penguins and also People who think they are Nuns… Similarly we try to rehabilitate Penguins who think they are Nuns and Nuns who think they are Penguins.

Together they combine to become a deadly combination, or one at least you’d struggle to differentiate between if say they were all the same size at distance.

We offer help on the following subjects :

How to spot a Penguin.
How to spot a Nun.
The difference between a Penguin and a Nun.
How to tell if it’s a nun dressed as a Penguin.
How to tell if it’s a Penguin dressed as a nun.
Obvious signs.
What to do if your offered a Penguin.
What to do if your offered a Nun.
What to do if you’re not offered a Penguin.
What to do if you’re not offered a Nun.
How to deal with Penguinisms.

The hotline and website will be active shortly, however if you have a Penguin related incident in the meantime, call your local Police service for assistance.
They should have a department that deals with such enquiries and will be more than happy for your call.

Yes, I’m mad. Firstly, my little delusional thought about hiding a nun amongst a group of Penguins affected me so severely that I had hysterical laughter all that day, and most of the night, sat alone often crying with tears of Laughter, chuckling to myself like a loon…

Also affected work quite badly as everyone now knows I’m mad, I had warned them beforehand but they just politely smiled and thought I was just having a laugh…How wrong they were…!

And still there are Penguins on the loose…

It’s no Coincidence that we have no Ozone Layer and we have Penguins in the same vicinity, think about it, they are slowly trying to gain access to the mainlands in what will be a decisive push for victory. Don’t say you haven’t been warned…

As for the Bermuda triangle, its easy, scientist have failed to find a reason for years, and I’m going to spell it out now for them. PENGUINS.

They are slowly getting everywhere, soon they’ll be stealing our jobs and subsequently our fish, and we all do nothing, not any more, we live in dangerous times.

A time for the Penguin Investigation Bureau.

If you need to talk, we have to listen…

Anti-Penguin Missile - 01

There's no weapon better designed to eradicate the threat of Penguins.

Fear not, time is on our side, however please feel free to visit out site when its online to see our available anti-Penguin range.

A day wiser…
20:09 on 23 July 2008

Not bloody likely, older, yes, wiser, who knows, although after the amount of alcohol forced down my neck last night I’d say not…

Greece has it in for me, everywhere I go it seems like everyone’s trying to get me drunk or p*ssed… I love this country…!

TBC…

About Simon Rawicz

Hmmm, It is about me I suppose... Work hard die young seems to be the motto life's going to write on my coffin well before we agree on terms and conditions. I'm a 2D/3D Artist/Designer and Multi-media specialist by trade, I play guitar and write songs when I'm not wanting to vent my anger out on the system. If I occasionally do get time to do anything else I'd like to know about it... Meanwhile to free my mind of the many demons that stalk me, I write stuff, your reading it so I don't need to tell you any more than that surely...!
This entry was posted in My first Year in Greece... and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The first three months pass, so I’m told…

  1. Pingback: A bit nipply. – Write or wrong?

Leave a Reply

